

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 17 MAY 2004 AT 7.00 PM

COMMITTEE AGENDA

COMMITTEE ROOMS 1/2 HARROW CIVIC CENTRE

[NB: PLEASE NOTE THE COMMENCEMENT TIME.]

MEMBERSHIP (Quorum 3) (subject to confirmation at Annual Council)

Chair: (subject to decision at Annual Council)

Councillors:

Blann Mrs Bath Branch

Bluston Janet Cowan
Dharmarajah Knowles
Ann Groves Vina Mithani
O'Dell John Nickolay

Reserve Members:

Omar
 Lavingia
 Billson
 Myra Michael
 Miss Lyne

Idaikkadar
 Gate
 Ray
 Osborn
 Harriss
 Versallion

Issued by the Committee Services Section,
Law and Administration Division

Contact: Michelle Fernandes, Committee Administrator

Tel: 020 8424 1542 E-mail: michelle.fernandes@harrow.gov.uk

<u>NOTE FOR THOSE ATTENDING THE MEETING:</u>
IF YOU WISH TO DISPOSE OF THIS AGENDA, PLEASE LEAVE IT BEHIND AFTER THE MEETING.
IT WILL BE COLLECTED FOR RECYCLING.

HARROW COUNCIL

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 17 MAY 2004

AGENDA - PART I

1. Appointment of Chair:

To note the appointment at the Annual Meeting of the Council on 13 May 2004 (subject to confirmation of that decision) of a Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2004/05 (or now to make an appointment).

2. Attendance by Reserve Members:

To note the attendance at this meeting by duly appointed Reserve Members (if any).

[Note: The Members and Reserve Members of the Committee for 2004/05 are as appointed by the Annual Council Meeting of 13 May 2004.]

3. **Arrangement of Agenda:**

To consider whether any of the items listed on the agenda should be considered with the press and public excluded on the grounds that it is thought likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted, that there would be disclosure of confidential information in breach of an obligation of confidence or of exempt information as defined in the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985.

4. Appointment of Vice-Chair:

To appoint (subject to confirmation of the Committee's membership) a Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2004/05.

5. **Minutes:**

To defer the signing of the Minutes of the predecessor Committee's meeting (General Purposes and Licensing), held on 29 September 2003 until the next ordinary meeting.

6. **Declarations of Interest:**

To receive any declarations of interest on the part of Members in relation to the substantive business for this meeting.

7. <u>Establishment of Panels 2004/05:</u>

To consider the establishment of and appointment of Members to Panels of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2004/05.

Enc. [Note: The proposed memberships of the Panels relevant to this Committee are set out in the appendix].

[NOTE: Members are asked to note that subsidiary body memberships must be determined in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and regulations made thereunder.

Therefore, whilst the Committee has to confirm the membership of its Panels to comply with the Local Government Act 1972, the actual nominations of named Councillors are decided by each group, from within the membership of that group.

It is not open to the Committee to seek to change or to delay the nominations duly made by a group. It is only if there is a failure to make a nomination or to act in due time that the Committee may seek to consider the matter further].



LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Labour Conservative Liberal **Democrats** (1) CHIEF OFFICER APPOINTMENTS PANEL (5) (3) [(2) Voluntary] (2) (1) [From Labour Group allocation] 1. Leader of Group 1. Leader of Group 1. Leader of Group Members (Councillor Miss Lyne or (Councillor Foulds or (Councillor C Mote or nominee) (CH) nominee) nominee) 2. Deputy Leader of the 2. Deputy Leader of the Group Group (Councillor N. Shah or (Councillor D Ashton or nominee). nominee). (2) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3) (2) (1) **Janet Cowan** Ray Members Toms* 1. Ann Groves 1. Mrs Bath 2. Jean Lammiman 2. Thammaiah <u>Reserve</u> 3. Vina Mithani <u>Members</u> 3. Anne Whitehead (3) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Voluntarily non-proportional) (1) (1) (1) Members O' Dell **Knowles Branch** 1. Arnold Bluston 1. Thornton 2. Miss Lyne Burchell 2. John Nickolay Reserve 2. 3. Mrs Joyce Nickolay <u>Members</u> 3. Gate

(4) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL PANEL

(3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Blann Harriss Branch Burchell Mary John Miss Lyne Myra Michael Currie

Ann Groves John Nickolay Mrs Joyce Nickolay Ismail

Versallion Lavingia

Toms

Anne Whitehead

(5) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2) (2)

<u>I.</u>	Bluston*	D Ashton *
<u>Members</u>	Idaikkadar	Romain
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Dighé Burchell Ingram 	 Pinkus Myra Michael Harriss

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray]

(6) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Blann Arnold Branch Bluston Mrs Bath Miss Lyne Jean Lammiman *

Harrison Mitzi Green Ann Groves Lavingia Ray N. Shah Stephenson Toms

Margaret Davine

(7) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

(2) ((1))((1))

Blann Myra Michael **Branch** Vina Mithani Mitzi Green Miss Lyne Silver

Omar Mrs R Shah Toms

= Chair

(VC)

= Vice-Chair Denotes Group Members for consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters.

LONDON BOROUGH OF HARROW

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL) ITEM 7 **MONDAY 17 MAY 2004**

The Major Minority Group has proposed the following nominations to the offices specified.

7. Chairs of Panels: (Paragraph 7.2 - Part B. Committee Procedure Rules)

Chief Officer Appointments Panel - Councillor Foulds Education Awards Appeals Panel - Councillor Toms Licensing Panel - Councillor O'Dell

NNDR: Discretionary Rate Relief Appeal Panel - Councillor -

- Councillor Bluston

Pension Fund Investments Panel
Personnel Appeals Panel - Councillor -- Councillor - This page is intentionally left blank